Feather Fest

Feather Fest is always an epic weekend. Boaters from all over gather at Indian Jim campground for a weekend of rowdiness, boating, socializing and good times. I got in contact with my good friend Pete and we made plans to carpool up to the river together on Friday. With boats strapped on the roof, Pete, Kayla and myself started our journey north. Every once in a while, all three of us would look at each other and just start giggling like little kids because we were so excited. Pete and I called it the “waves of stoke.” The amazing thing about the river community is how many people you can meet, yet how small the community actually is. At Feather Fest, I knew a bunch of my paddling friends would be there, kids who I’ve met on various rivers throughout my paddling career. But, the funny thing was, a lot of them had never met each other. It was so funny and awesome to have all of these amazing people come together at the same time to meet and enjoy each others company. The stoke was most certainly not a joke on this trip.

We showed up Friday evening and miraculously ran into all of our friends and celebrated the night away to be awakened by the glorious morning sun. Saturday is the day of the Feather Fest Race, the most attended and most competitive race in California. I had raced the year before and taken 13th with a time of 16:32 having only paddled the 15 minute Tobin run 3 times before. This year I was ready to go fast. I had paddled hard all summer and had trained for this race. I knew the run and even a few more race lines, but I knew the competition was stiff. During my run, I can only think of two times when I could have dramatically changed something to go faster and I was stoked with my time. I ended up with a time of 15:33, placing 6th and only 8 seconds off 3rd place. I think now it might be time to step it up to the longboat game next year.

The party that night was of course, awesome. Dancing the night away with my best river friends and watching the ever so entertaining rewards party. The top 3 racers in this years race were forced to spin a wheel of doom, each space filled with some filthy combination of MacGregor Whiskey and things that whiskey should never be mixed with like prune juice, chocolate milk or sardines. I suppose winning is also like loosing at this race. After the awards party, everyone made their way off to their respective cars, tents, or sleeping pads in the middle of the road for a well deserved nights sleep.

The next day, we woke up and rallied a few more Tobin laps, and even took a few friends down for their first time ever running Class V. I’d have to say that this event always lives up to it’s reputation. It’s the largest river festival in California, and possibly the West Coast. There are always great times and awesome people and is for sure one of the most memorable weekends of the summer.

Here are a few pictures from the weekend and a video from way back when, of my first time running Tobin, and my first real Class V experience ever!

The results from the 2013 race. People were incredibly fast this year.

The results from the 2013 race. People were incredibly fast this year.

Coming in hot on the first practice lap of the trip.

Coming in hot on the first practice lap of the trip. Photo by Sami Hawkins.

One thought on “Feather Fest

  1. Pingback: California Summer | Carson Lindsay

Leave a comment